Sunday, 22 February 2009

Tips For The Next Dubsket...




If like us you've become a whore for Dub..
then The Fridge Brixton is the place to be on March 6th..

here's a few tips:
  • Get your tickets as early as you can - because the fewer tickets available the higher the price will rise... and forget credit crunch... even if we're rolling in it... we don't wanna have to spend more than necessary hehe...
  • Wear as little as possible - last time i went i had my usual 2/3 pairs of tights(for extra warmth on the way home) two tops, a jumper and a puffa coat.. the heat in there CAN kill you.. anyways anything goes... we saw girls in their knickers and bras so just be adventurous..
  • take as few things with you as possible - I only say this because the Cloak room queue is mental so you may end up holding your coat... and you don't really wanna be holding loads extra.. plus... there was a few pick pockets about(bloody bastards) we had nicked oyster cards, money and phones... so only bring what neccesary and keep your stuf close..
  • Even if dubstep isn't your thing give it a try - dubstep isn't my thing and i loved it.. they threw in some d'n'b, Bassline, Old Old Original Garage(not what people try call "old skool"... and i heard funky house... that was the point when we nearly wet ourselves...

But anyhoo guys... hope i've been helpful hehe... see you's there...

Elvie.. The Lick...x

Blog 1; dubsket


Brixton Fridge club on the 19.2.08

We went to Dubsket.. a dubstep rave... (get the play on words). Now considering none of us particularly listen to Dubstep we were wary of what to expect...
TRUST... it was better than we all flipping thought..
we were expecting it to get bored...but we were wrong.
dubstep for thoese who dont know... Began as a cross between dub reggae (spooky, echoey sounds, erie noises and VERY heavy basslines) and 2-step UK garage. These days though Dubstep is easier to confuse with Drum'n'Bass as the Genre Blender continues to mix..
youtube it :D
it was well worth 7pound... and pushing in..

the lack of cleanliness in the toilet was a major turn off... swear u could catch every STD under the sun from being their... not cool...
But the atmosphere, The people and the BASSLINE made it one of the best nights out we've had in a long while...
But anyway we made a short video as soon as we came out and you could see we looked very run down from dancing for hours on end but overall it was a pretty good rave. (BRINGGG ON NUMBER 3)

anyway nuff said bout that over and out,

Lick xO